The winners of the Scottish Curry Awards 2012 were announced in Glasgow.

Nomination came in from all over Scotland and the race to be crowned at this year’s awards ceremony was an extremely tight contest.

“We are proud to be the title sponsors of an event that pays homage to Scotland’s curry industry,” says Managing Director Shane Lake.

“To be amongst such passionate people who love what they do is truly inspiring. The Scottish Curry Awards aims to recognise that dedication.”

Over 600 guests attended the glamorous event, including the lovely host, Sharon Prasad.

Yasmin Mahmood, Operations & Business Development Manager for Oceanic Consulting said: “After five years putting this event on, this year saw old faces and was also fresh with new contenders. It was a fantastic evening and I would like to thank everyone for attending and a big thank you to our sponsors. "Congratulations to all our winner and finalists, and I hope to see you next year!”

Entertainment of the night was provided by the fabulous Scottish Rockettes.

The main sponsor is and Save the Children was this year’s charity partner.

Other sponsors of the event include: Bank of Scotland, Pepsi, Asda, O2, Elephant Atta, Goldstar Chefs, Grafx Media, Saffron Events UK , RNIB, Porrelli, Spectrum PR, De:Strukt, DRB Solicitors, Highland Spring and our official media partners, Awaz Newspaper and ZEE TV.

And the winners were… Curry Lover of the Year presented by Asda winner: Glasgow City Council.

Best Supermarket Curry Award presented by Anas Sarwar winner: Asda.

Team of the Year sponsored by O2 winner: Taj Mahal (Biggar).

Chef of the Year sponsored by Goldstar Chefs winner: Jagtar Singh (Taj Tandoori).

Curry King or Queen 2012 presented by DRB Solicitors winner: Mohamed Ali.

Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by ZEE TV winner: Rabinder Singh Uppal.

The Best of Glasgow sponsored by RNIB winner: Charcoals Takeaway of the Year sponsored by HungryHouse North East winner is: Qismat - Aberdeen.

North West winner is: Kebabish Curry house - Oban.

South East winner is: Eastern Spices - Edinburgh.

South West winner is: Halal Kebab House.

Overall winner: Eastern Spices - Edinburgh.

Restaurant of the Year sponsored by Bank of Scotland.

North East winner is: Cinnamon - Aberdeen.

North West winner is: Spice Tandoori – Fort William.

South East winner is: Suruchi - Edinburgh.

South West winner is : Rasoi - Lenzie.

Overall winner: Rasoi Lenzie.