More than 3,000 music fans attended the BritAsia TV Kuflink Music Awards at Wembley Stadium.

Controversial Punjabi rapper Sidhu Moose Wala headlined the event. Sidhu’s recent collaboration with UK grime producer Steel Bangelez and Birmingham-based rappers Mist and Stefflon Don entered the UK charts at No.7.

The night also featured performances from Mickey Singh, a debut UK performance from Indian rapper Emiway Bantai alongside up and coming artist Celina Sharma.
Opening the night was the collaboration of F1rstman, Juggy D, H-Dhami, Raxstar and Mumzy Stranger.

Best UK Female Act went to Rika for her many hit singles this year including the hugely popular Hold on to me.

Asian Image:

Sidhu Moosewala took home the Best Lyricist and Best International Male Act awards, while Steel Banglez received Best Non-Traditional Act, which was accepted on the night by his dad.

Breakthrough Act went to F1rstman after the huge collaboration with H Dhami, Juggy D, Raxstar and Mumzy which was remixed for the cricket World Cup earlier this year and Best UK Male Act went to Gurj Sidhu. 

Asian Image:

For Tony Shergill, CEO of Brit Asia TV and organiser of the awards, 2020 is set to be the year that South Asian music fully breaks into the mainstream. Tony said: “We’ve had some fantastic successes over the past year, with Sidhu’s single entering the top ten and the Official Charts Company launching the world’s first Punjabi Chart Show in November.

“From Ravi Shankar’s collaborations with the Beatles in the 1960s, Indian music has had a profound influence on pop music around the globe. 

"That sense of collaboration continues to this day and what’s great to see from a song like 47 is that it doesn’t matter whether you’re from east London, a small village in the Punjab, inner city Birmingham or Jamaica, if you have talent you have an opportunity to make music.

“All the winners and nominees were very well deserved; it was great to present them all with awards for their hard work. The big winner, Sidhu Moosewala has had an amazing year, and put on a show stopping performance last night. We would like to thank all the winners and nominees and wish them all the success.” 

Asian Image:

Coverage of the awards can be found on BritAsia’s social media pages and will be televised on the channel later this month. 

The Official Punjabi Chart Show, presented by Rajdip Shoker, airs on BritAsia TV every Sunday at 6pm. 

BAMA19 Winners List

Breakthrough Act: F1rstman
Best Album: PBX1
Best Lyricist: Sidhu Moosewala
Best International Male Act: Sidhu Moosewala
Best UK Female Act: Rika
Best Collaboration: F1rstman, Juggy D, H Dhami, Mumzy & Raxstar
Best International Female Act: Jasmine Sandlas
Best UK Male Act: Gurj Sidhu
Best Music Video: Yaar Chadeya
Best DJ: AJD
Best Non-Traditional Act: Steel Banglez
Best Music Video Producer: Navjit Buttar
Best Music Producer: Manni Sandhu
Track of The Year: Legend