The finalists for this year’s Fusion Awards have been announced.

The awards again recognise a range of people from across cultural and religious backgrounds who continue to work tirelessly within their communities.

Among the finalists in the man of the year category sees a joint nomination for Faruk Vali, Rafiq Ahmed, Ilyas Karbhari and Sufyan Dadabhai who recently raised funds for a hospice by trekking to Mount Everest. They are joined by among others Sinclair Morris of the Action for the Community group.

The woman of the year category includes volunteers Joani McBride, charity worker Wendy Veevers alongside Senior Health Development Worker Rubina Malik of Rochdale and doctor Padmini Sankar.

The Community Group of the year category includes  who have held a number of innovative projects in their area, The Outreach Bolton team who work with disadvantaged and vulnerable individuals. The little known but committed Preston Telugu Community Association.  Also short-listed is the Children of Jannah team, the Rochdale Bangladeshi Partnership Project and the Blackburn Foodbank at the St Barnabas Church and Community Centre.

The Lower Falinge Junior Wardens, Youth Action and volunteer Tayyab Ahmed of Preston are among the finalists in the Youth Leadership Award section.
This year’s Fusion Awards are supported by among others BAE Systems, They said, “The Fusion Awards and BAE Systems share many of the same values – a passion for supporting local communities, recognising innovative people who aren’t afraid to challenge the status quo and encouraging a contribution from all members of their respective communities, irrespective of background or culture.”
“BAE Systems is proud to support the 2014 Fusion Awards and to sponsor the Youth Leadership Award."

The 2014 awards will be held for the first time at King George’s Hall, Blackburn, on Saturday, May 24, where due to demand the capacity will increase to 450 guests. For further information you may call 01254 298263.

Man of the Year
Sinclair Morris
Ejaz Hussain
Joint Nomination: Faruk Valli, Rafiq Ahmed, Ilyas Karbhari and Sufyan Dadabhai
Dr Mounir Hakimi

Woman of the Year
Joani Mcbride
Sobia Yaqoob
Robina Malik
Wendy Veevers

Community Group of the Year
Children of Jannah
Preston Telugu Community Association
Rochdale Bangladeshi Partnership Project
Blackburn Foodbank at the St Barnabas Church and Community Centre
Urban Outreach Bolton

Community Cohesion Award
Ashif Ibrahim
Inspiring Grace
Sobia Malik
The Dean - Very Rev'd Christopher Armstrong
The Myriad Foundation

Entrepreneur of the Year
Bobby and Danny Singh
Jennifer Gosling and Mr Shaun Buck
Christine and Jenny Chau
Sabiha Patel

Youth Leadership Award
Aeman Ali Afzal
Daneshouse FC
Lower Falinge Junior Wardens
Tayyab Ahmed
Youth Action

Public Service Award
Angela Allen
Jennifer Carthy
Padmini Sankar
Ravi Sethi

Individual awards on the night will be presented for the Uclan Education Achievement Award, the Aksa Homes Young Neighbourhood Champion; the Mumtaz Ellahi Community Sports Award and Achievement in Sport Award.