The inaugural British Muslim Awards have announced their list of finalists.
Sponsored by the Islamic Bank of Britain the awards honour the success and achievements of Britain’s Muslim individuals, groups and business people.
This will be an evening of recognition and celebration, which will highlight the significant role Muslims play in contributing to a better Great Britain.
As well as shining the spotlight on the achievements of Muslim men and women at the forefront of their communities and industries, the event will raise money for Mosaic – the largest multi-cause charitable enterprise in the United Kingdom.
Founded by HRH the Prince of Wales in 2007, Mosaic’s mentoring programmes create opportunities for young people growing up in the most deprived communities.
The event will be held on the 29 January at the Sheridan Suite in Manchester.
Irfan Younis, director of Oceanic Consulting, founders of the British Muslim Awards said: “We would like to thank the public for the fantastic response we received. I would also like to congratulate all of the finalists.
“We have some truly inspirational individuals who are proud to be Muslim and British and this is the first time their efforts and achievements are being recognised in such a public way.
“We are also delighted to be working with the Islamic Bank of Britain, who are our headline sponsors.”

The finalists are:


Art & Culture
Adil Ray (of Citizen Khan)
Aaqil Ahmed (of BBC)
Enam Ali (of the British Curry Awards)
Imran Akram (of Brit Writers)
British Muslim Heritage Centre

Best at Sport
Mo Farah (Double Gold Olympic Athlete)
Rimla Akhtar (of Muslim Woman Sports Foundation)
Samir Nasri (Man City Footballer)
Muslim Woman Sports Foundation
Amir Khan

Young Achiever
Omar Ali (of Federation of Student Islamic Societies)
Imran Hakim (of i-teddy)
Rehana Azib (of 2 Temple Gardens)
Sajda Mughal (of Jan Trust)
Mamuna Farooq (of DJM Solicitors)

Charity of the Year
Islamic Relief
Muslim Hands
Tell Mama

Services to Medicine
Mohammed Ali Jawad
Prof Farida Fortune
Tipu Zahed Aziz
Sir Maqdi Habib Yacoub
Dr Mahdi Mabruk Jibani

Services Finance & Accounts
Sharjill Ahmed (of Bank of London and Middle East)
Mahmoud Atalla   (of HSBC)
Amin Mawji (of Ernest & Young)
Farmida Bi (of Norton Rose)
Siddiq Musa (of KPMG)

Services to Law
Imran Khan (of Imran Khan & Partners)
Aamir Anwar (of Aamer Anwar & Co.)
Nazir Afzal (of CCPS)
Naema Choudry (of Eversheds)
Tahir Khan  (of Barrister at Law at Broadway House Chambers)

Services to Science & Engineering
Dr Javed Siddiqui (University of Manchester)
Abdulsalam Al-Mayahi
Professor Adel Sharif  (University of Surrey)
Professor Mohamed El-Gomati (University of York)
Andy Miah (University of the West of Scotland)

Civil Servant of the Year
Ishtiaq Hussain (Central Government)
Zaheer Ahmad (National Association of Muslim Police)
Ruhena Zoarder (Central Government)
DI Khizra Dhindsa (ACPO)
Admiral Amjad Mazhar Hussain

Services to Education
Mona Siddiqui (Islamic Assistant Principle for Religious Studies)
Baroness Haleh Afshar (Professor& Life Peer in House of Loads
Bushra Nasir (Plashet School)
Ahmed Choonara (Network for Black Professionals)
Hawa Bibi Laher (Spring Grove School)

Services to Media
Saira Khan
Razia Iqbal
Mazher Mahmood
Sarwar Ahmed
Andleeb Hanif

Services to Creativity & Technology
Sir Hossein Yassaie (of Imagination Technologies)
Shaf Rasul (of Enet Distribution)
Adeel Younis (of
Ajaz Ahmed (of Founder AKQA)
Uzma Hassan  (of Producer, Infidels)

Businessman of the Year
Iqbal Ahmed (of Seamark)
Aneel Musarrat (of MCR Property)
Tariq Usmani (of Henley Homes)
Toukar Suleyman (of Low Profile Holdings)
Akmal & Afzal Khushi (of Trespass Clothing)

Muslim in the Community
Zahid Hussain
Dr Hany El-Banna
ZR Foundation
Muslim Scout Fellowship
Akhtar Mansoor

Businesswoman of the Year
Parveen Wassi (of S&A Foods)
Shazia Awan (of Peachy Pink)
Farida Gibbs (of Gibbs S3)
Nighat Awan (of Shere Group)
Farah Ramzan Golant  (of All 3 Media)

Business of the Year
Euro Garages
Bestway Cash & Carry
99p Stores
Manchester City Football Club
S&A Foods

Entrepreneur of the Year
Azeem Ibrahim
James Caan
Shahid Sheikh
Farnaz Khan
Wasfi Kani

Responsible Media of the Year
The Independent
Islam Channel
Peace TV
Al Jazeera
BBC Five Live

Muslim Woman of the Year
Aliya Mohammed (Race Equality First)
Shahien Taj (Henna Foundation)
Shaista Gohir (Muslim Woman’s Network)
Haifa Fahoum Al-Kaylani (Arab International Women’s Forum)
Baroness Pola Uddin (Parliament)

Religious Advocate
Iman Abdul Jalil Sajid (Brighton Islamic Missions)
Sheikh Bilal Khan (Dome Advisory)
Iman Monawar Hussain (Oxford Foundation)
Shaheen Kauser (NHS Muslim Chaplin)
Ajmal Masroor (Barefoot Institute)

Politician of the Year
Baroness Sayeeda Warsi
Sadiq Khan, MP
Anas Sarwar, MP
Rushanara Ali, MP
Yasmin Qureshi, MP